aerial photo of the campus in the fall season

Important Dates

Holiday Observance for Employees

Holiday Observed 2022 2023
New Year’s Day Observed Mon, Jan 3 Observed Mon, Jan 2
Family Day Mon, February 21 Monday, Feb 20
Good Friday Fri, Apr 15 Friday, April 7
Easter Monday Mon, Apr 18 Mon, Apr 10
Victoria Day Mon, May 23 Monday, May 22
Canada Day Fri, Jul 1 Observed Mon, July 3
BC Day Mon, Aug 1 Monday, Aug 7
Labour Day Mon, Sep 5 Monday, Sept 4
Day for Truth + Reconciliation Fri, Sep 30 Observed Mon, Oct 2
Thanksgiving Day Mon, Oct 10 Monday, Oct 9
Remembrance Day  Fri, Nov 11 Observed Mon, Nov 13 
Christmas Day* Observed Mon, Dec 26 Monday, Dec 25
Boxing Day* Observed Tues, Dec 27 Tuesday, Dec 26

Notes

  • Vancouver Island University recognizes Easter Monday and Boxing Day as paid holidays
  • All VIU campuses and facilities will be closed on Friday, December 24, 2021, and will reopen on Tuesday, January 4, 2022.