VIU Nanaimo Campus looking southeast

Important Dates

Holiday Observance

VIU observes the following holidays for employees. 

Holiday Observed

2020

2021

New Year’s Day

Wednesday, January 1

Friday, January 1*

Family Day

Monday, February 17

Monday, February 15

Good Friday /
Easter Monday

Friday, April 10 /
Monday, April 13

Friday, April 2 /
Monday, April 5

Victoria Day

Monday, May 18

Monday, May 24

Canada Day

Wednesday, July 1

Thursday, July 1

BC Day

Monday, August 3

Monday, August 2

Labour Day

Monday, September 7

Monday, September 6

Thanksgiving Day

Monday, October 12

Monday, October 11

Remembrance Day 

Wednesday, November 11

Thursday, November 11

Christmas Day*

Friday, December 25

observed Monday, December 27

Boxing Day*

observed Monday, December 28

observed, Tuesday December 28

Note: Vancouver Island University recognizes Easter Monday and Boxing Day as paid holidays

Winter holiday break 2020: December 24, 29, 30 and 31. 

*The University will be closed December 24, 2020 and will reopen on January 4, 2021. This closure includes all employees working from home.

MENU
CLOSE X Human Resources