VIU Nanaimo Campus looking southeast

Statutory Holidays at VIU

VIU observes the following statutory holidays for employees. 

Statutory Holiday

2019

2020

New Year’s Day

Tuesday, January 1

Wednesday, January 1

Family Day

Monday, February 18

Monday, February 17

Good Friday /
Easter Monday

Friday/Monday, April 19/22

Friday, April 10 /
Monday, April 13

Victoria Day

Monday, May 20

Monday, May 18

Canada Day

Monday, July 1

Wednesday, July 1

BC Day

Monday, August 5

Monday, August 3

Labour Day

Monday, September 2

Monday, September 7

Thanksgiving Day

Monday, October 14

Monday, October 12

Remembrance Day 

Monday, November 11

Wednesday, November 11

Christmas Day

Wednesday, December 25

Friday, December 25

Boxing Day

Thursday, December 26

observed Monday, December 28, 

Note: Vancouver Island University recognizes Easter Monday and Boxing Day as paid holidays

MENU
CLOSE X